Introduction

Hi,

I’m Mitch Burgess and I am currently pursuing a degree in Petroleum Engineering at University of Alaska Fairbanks. I also compete on the Cross Country team at UAF and I will be going into my sophomore year this fall. I was born and raised in Southern California and thought Alaska would be a great experience and opportunity for me to explore as well as prepare for my future. My first time in visiting Alaska was Spring of 2013 and decided to sign to UAF the following Fall. I enjoyed Fairbanks this past school year and can’t wait to come back up in the Fall.

As for my relationship for art, it is not that large. I have taken a couple art classes in middle school where I drew “Portrait of Armand Roulin” by Vincent van Gogh in colored pencil. My brothers and sister have all taken this same art class where we each drew the same portrait and it became a family competition to see who could draw it the best. In highschool I was placed in a ceramics class where I got to create vases, bowls and luminaries through many different techniques. Ceramics had to be one of my favorite forms of art that I have taken part in so far as I really enjoyed creating an object that you can physically use. Though I don’t have a huge background in art I have taken some classes throughout my education which I enjoyed. As for viewing art I have gone to museums to look at paintings but It never really interested me that much but I do really enjoy the back story to some of the paintings. I have been to theater plays a few times and they have all been very interesting to me as I usually have read the book of the play that they are acting out. As for music I have been to a few concerts and they have been a lot of fun to see the artist perform their work live to you. I enjoy viewing most forms of art and most of them are memorable for me when I go to view them.

 

2 comments

  1. Fun! A family art competition. I love ceramics and have many beautiful and functional works in my home, made by potters I know. Maybe your studies will include time for a ceramics class at UAF.

    I’m a runner (triathlete) too – if you’re in Fairbanks this summer our paths may cross.

Leave a comment